Sailing Day Buffet

When I was a kid, my family very seldom got to enjoy buffets. My sisters and I didn’t really eat that much and many a times when we did go for a buffet, we would only have a bowl of cornflakes and ended up running around, creating havoc for my parents. Ahhhhhh, the good old days. I would like to send some love right now over to my parents in Singapore. Thanks for putting up with me when I was a kid. Alright, now that love has been sent back via modern technology, I shall continue with my story. Now that I’m all grown up and have grown to appreciate food better, I enjoy the occasional buffet. This new found love was discovered after a drunken night in Vegas. Ahhhhhh, memories, memories. By the way, buffets are also known as “Baikin” in Japanese which comes from the word Viking. A little bit of language exchange there for all my friends in cyberspace.

Sailing Day Buffet, as you can tell from the name, is a buffet style restaurant. It’s also a Priority Seating Restaurant. Loads of seats at this establishment, but Priority Seating is recommended. Once entered, you will be ushered to your seat where you will have two hours to stuff yourself with whatever you desire. It provides both Eastern and Western cuisine, soft drinks, coffee, tea, desserts, everything you would have come to expect from a buffet. Themed to look the part of a cruise ship hangar, beautiful, much like everything else at TDS.

Sailing Day Buffet sign

Sailing Day Buffet sign

Sailing Day Buffet

Sailing Day Buffet

Sailing Day Buffet Pricelist

Sailing Day Buffet Pricelist

Inside Sailing Day Buffet

Inside Sailing Day Buffet

Outdoor seating arrangement (a)

Outdoor seating arrangement

More outdoor seating

More outdoor seating

There are a few different areas to the buffet. There’s Children’s Buffet, Soup and Salad, Hot Entrees, Celebration Special and Dockside Desserts. Celebration Special serves up roast beef. The rest mentioned above are pretty self explanatory. Out of all the food on display, my favorites were the roast beef, chicken creole, chef’s special pasta and chef’s special meat puff. There was also an ice cream machine. What is the best way to end a meal? ICE CREAM! Ice cream is the best thing ever created. Ice cream should be the official way to end meals. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, supper, tea time. Everytime you eat something, you should top it off with ice cream. Period! Guess what am I having now. ICE CREAM! Loads of it!

Roast Beef, Creole Chicken, Meat Puff

Roast Beef, Creole Chicken, Meat Puff

Chef`s Special Pasta with OJ

Chef`s Special Pasta with OJ

Buffet Area

Buffet Area

Children`s Buffet

Children`s Buffet

Childrens Buffet selection (A)

Childrens Buffet selection (A)

Childrens Buffet selection (B)

Childrens Buffet selection (B)

Soup & Salad

Soup & Salad

Soup & Salad selection (A)

Soup & Salad selection (A)

Soup & Salad selection (B)

Soup & Salad selection (B)

Hot Entrees

Hot Entrees

Hot Entrees selection (A)

Hot Entrees selection (A)

Hot Entrees selection (B)

Hot Entrees selection (B)

Celebration Special

Celebration Specials (Roast Beef)

Dockside Desserts

Dockside Desserts

Dockside Desserts selection (A)

Dockside Desserts selection (A)

Dockside Desserts selection (B)

Dockside Desserts selection (B)

Ice Cream Machine

Ice Cream Machine

A great way to end a meal

A great way to end a meal

Sailing Day Buffet is the only buffet style restaurant in TDS. Eat as much as you like and drink as much as you like. Oh yes, I forgot to mention this. With regards to drinks, they have softdrink machines, coffee machines and tea bags for you to indulge in. Those are included in the price. Alcoholic beverages, on the other hand, are available, but not included in the price of the buffet. I would recommend Sailing Day Buffet to anyone who has worked up a big appetite. Walking around for the whole day could work up such an appetite. When that happens, Sailing Day Buffet might just be the place for you. Don`t forget the ice cream. One last thing before I leave you. There`s an ice cream machine, yes? There`s also a coffee machine, yes? If you are a lover of both, do the math and the end result is quite brilliant. Ah-boom!!!

KM gives this restaurant an 8/10

2 thoughts on “Sailing Day Buffet

  1. Do you know if they have any sugar-free soft drinks at their drink station? My husband is diabetic and we had the hardest time finding any sugar-free drinks (except for coffee and tea, of course) at most restaurants in Japan.

    • From what I can recall, no. I don`t think I`ve ever seen any sugar-free soft drinks being sold in TDR. Next time you come into the Tokyo area, drop me a message. I`ve decided to start a food/drink delivery service to help with special dietary needs. Hope that these service will be able to help a lot of people. Cheers.

Leave a comment