Center Street Coffeehouse

After visiting Tokyo Disneyland countless times, once in a while, this park still finds a way to surprise me. This day was hot. Little Mahina was enjoying her Strawberry Popcorn, a pregnant Wife-chan was trying her best to keep upbeat and I was slowly melting away from the heat and humidity. All of us were sweating profusely. We were at World Bazaar and wanted to walk to Grandma Sara’s for lunch, but it was too hot. So, we made a u-turn and headed towards Grand Emporium for some A/C. While walking back towards Grand Emporium, we noticed that there was no line for lunch at Center Street Coffehouse. It was a super hot summer’s day at a super packed Tokyo Disneyland and there was no line at an air-conditioned, sit-down restaurant during lunch time?! Was this a mirage? This must have been a sign. Center Street Coffeehouse was calling out to me saying, “Come in and review me. I’m ready for ya!”

Center Street Coffeehouse

Center Street Coffeehouse

Center Street Coffeehouse is one of those places that I have known about for years, but it never really appealed enough for me to enter. It reminded me of any normal “Family Restaurant” here in Japan, like a Gusto or a Royal Host. Nothing in the menu screams out to you. There’s nothing fancy on the menu. Safe bets like Spaghetti with Meat Sauce and Hamburger Patty with Rice fill the menu at Center Street Coffeehouse. The menu reminded me a lot of Saizeriya’s menu, but of course, this being Disney, prices are more than doubled.

Center Street Coffeehouse Menu, Page 1

Center Street Coffeehouse Menu, Soups & Salads

Center Street Coffeehouse Menu, Page 2

Center Street Coffeehouse Menu, Main Dishes (A)

Center Street Coffeehouse Menu, Page 3

Center Street Coffeehouse Menu, Main Dishes (B)

Center Street Coffeehouse Menu, Page 4

Center Street Coffeehouse Menu, Desserts and Beverages

Center Street Coffeehouse Menu, Kid's Menu

Center Street Coffeehouse Menu, Kid’s Menu

I ordered the Omelet over Rice with Beef and Demi-Glace Sauce set while Wife-chan ordered a Spaghetti with Meat Sauce set. We got a small plate of side salad, the dish itself and free flow of drinks with this set. If you ever wanted to find a place to chill out for an extended amount of time without breaking the bank, look no further. Free flow of drinks!!! Mahina took a nap while we were eating. A really long nap too. The heat must have got to her. Wife-chan and I spent about two hours here having a variety of drinks, chatting and reminiscing our past while Little Mahina ventured off into dreamland.

Spaghetti with Meat Sauce

Spaghetti with Meat Sauce

Omelet over Rice with Beef and Demi-Glace Sauce

Omelet over Rice with Beef and Demi-Glace Sauce

Before heading into Center Street Coffeehouse, I came to a point which I thought I would never reach. I came to a point whereby I would have hated a trip to Disneyland. Weather plays a huge part in enjoying the parks. Plan your trips accordingly. Center Street Coffeehouse saved me. I was Snow White, the weather was The Wicked Witch and Center Street Coffeehouse was the Prince that nobody notices. I’ll leave you guys with that thought for a while…

… Alright back to this review. I have good news and bad news. Let’s start with the bad news. The atmosphere in the restaurant was similar to a “Family Restaurant”. A Japanese “Family Restaurant” is sorta like a Denny’s. Theming in this restaurant is nothing to shout about. The theming seemed lazy to me. For a while, I almost forgot that I was in Disneyland. Good news? The food was brilliant. Yes, the menu is boring, but the food was really good. Yes, it was more than double the price compared to a “Family Restaurant”, but it tasted doubly good. Good food and a free flow of drinks. I love value and I feel that Center Street Coffeehouse delivers on that front.

KM gives this restaurant a 7/10.

Seating arrangement at Center Street Coffeehouse

Seating arrangement at Center Street Coffeehouse

PS: If you are looking for another restaurant to escape from the crowds at Tokyo Disneyland and chill out, KM would also like to recommend Dreamer’s Lounge at Tokyo Disneyland Hotel.

 

10 thoughts on “Center Street Coffeehouse

  1. Thanks for another fantastic review! My sister and I are coming to Tokyo Disneyland for four days in December for the very first time. We love your blog and can’t wait to try out the places we’ve been reading about. We’ll be stopping by both the Center Street Coffeehouse and the Dreamer’s Lounge during our long walks around the park. One question: What is Calpico? I see it listed on the Drinks menu. We don’t have that here in Missouri.

  2. It’s funny, in the year and a half spent visiting the park, I’ve never set foot in there! I must’ve assumed it was just a coffee place without food or something! I’ll have to check it out next time I make it to Japan. Congrats on the pregnancy, too! I’m currently 5 months pregnant with twins and can understand how nice it must’ve been to find somewhere to rest and recuperate from the summer heat!! 🙂 Thanks!

    • Congrats on the twins. I know what you mean. I’ve never actually paid attention to this restaurant until this visit. It was a chance visit and I am so glad to have dined there. Will definitely visit again in the future. Once again, thanks for the connect and best of luck with the pregnancy.

      • It seems like a good place to chill out, even if you can get the same sort of experience at Saizeriya or Gasto’s, lol. (I always used to go there with my other half when we were studying.. poor students love the cheap food and drink bar!!)

        All the best with your wife’s pregnancy too! It’ll be so much fun taking two kids to Disney!! Double the fun. 🙂

      • Hahahaha. Saizeriya, Gusto and all are really affordable to take the family. You will get to take two little ones to Disney soon too. Will be so much fun. I can’t wait. Take care and once again, congrats!!!

      • Thank you. More posts to come in the future. By the way, I am upgrading the blog soon and it will be a different web address. I’m gonna pretty it up, haha. Will keep you posted.

  3. Pingback: Huey, Dewey & Louie’s Good Time Cafe | Konnichiwa Mickey

  4. Pingback: For those with Food Allergies | Konnichiwa Mickey

Leave a comment